D1 Requirements Topic

Posted by Mr_Kid on 6/24/2016 11:03:00 AM (view original):
Hello,

I have a PI entry as a d3 coach my first season and 2 NT bids in a row at D2. What will it take me to be eligible to coach a d1 school?
For me, when I was in Div-2, qualifying for a low end Div-1 school required 3 NT bids (bounced in the 1st round each time).
It took me 6 years to make those 3 NT's.
My only Div-1 offers after those 3 NT's were from D-minus schools only, all in low majors (there might have been 10 to 15 jobs available).

Once I made it to Div-1 (low-major, D-minus Holy Cross in my case), it took 3 more NT bids (with 1 win total) to qualify for any Big Six.
Those available Big-6 jobs included only schools whose prestige had dropped lower than mine at Holy Cross.
I had pulled Holy Cross up to a B-minus (with RPI's in the 40's for a few years in a row), and was qualified for Providence, which was a "C" prestige.
I also qualified for Cincinnati (with C prestige), but not Seton Hall (with B-minus prestige).
I'm not sure if you need to be 2 ticks up in the letter grade system (B-minus to straight-C), or just 1 tick (B-minus to C-plus).

Good luck!
6/24/2016 5:29 PM
I appreciate the help all!! I really do! My goal is to go coach Liberty University(my alma mater). They are a D prestige in Rupp so maybe a few seasons away from it! I would just find it very satisfying to coach them. I understand I have so many better schools at my disposal, but I would find it a pleasure to possibly build LU up!
6/24/2016 7:01 PM
Posted by Mr_Kid on 6/24/2016 4:03:00 PM (view original):