Stabbing in the dark! Topic

Hi Im new to not only this online game but fairly new to the sport - got hooked in Jan and haven't let go of the zest for it since! I'm from England too which means my core knowledge of the sport is limited too so bare with me!
I've just joined Wilkinson world and we're about to 'recruit'.
I've not had time to fully read all the manuals although they look very good and useful. I will in good time.
however I'm concerned that time is against me cos first picks of recruitment start tomorrow! :0
I've tried 'watching' a handful of decent players but before I go ahead with any contract signings is there anything obvious that I should avoid?!
I have been given 21k and 7 players to sign I think. and I think there's a week to do it in - but I assume the best players go super quick!
thanks in advance and putting up with such novice questioning!
jh
11/22/2016 6:25 PM
Welcome to the game! You'll get a lot of help here. Just a few things to start:
1. You'll have great recruiting vision, since your team has won 14 games each of the past 3 seasons. That means you will see more of the very best players than the majority of teams will.
2. When you start recruiting, don't look at any players that are more than 360 miles away. The price for recruiting goes way up when you get out farther than that. Players closer than 180 miles are even less costly to recruit.
3. If you use the standard WIS recruiting page to search for recruits, use the specific position ratings to rank your players. For example, when you search for Quarterbacks, in the Overall Rating drop-down box, specify Quarterback, not Total.
4. You will need to have enough players at each position. You have 50 total roster spots. Most people go with a distribution something like this:
QB 2 or 3
RB 4 or 5
WR 5 or 6
TE 2 or 3
OL 8 or 9
DL 7 or 8
LB 6 or 7
DB 7 or 8
K 1
P 1

11/22/2016 6:56 PM