Defense QuestionsI Topic

I'm still fairly new to SLB and have some questions about defense:

If I put my best OF in CF, should I put my 2nd best in RF or LF? IRL MLB, the RF is usually better than the LF.... And in higher cap SLB leagues, you usually see many LH hitters.. So I tend to think the RF should be the better fielder, but I am not sure....

And, I'm wondering if I can use Ted Williams at 1B without hurting my defense too much...

I already drafted a team with '23 Ruth, '11 Cobb, '94 H Duffy, '87 Tip O'neal, and '41 Williams. $255M league

I don't have a 1B on the squad but Ruth has a good rating at 1B as a secondary position... However, he is also my best OF and Tip O'Neal is rated D/B- and has a fielding% of .895... I was thinking my best defensive lineup may actually be Williams at 1B and Ruth in the OF with O'Neal at DH... Williams is a D+/C- OF, but his RL fielding% is pretty good at .966.... The letter grades and RRF would indicate that O'Neal should play in the OF and Williams DH, but the errors/fielding% suggest the opposite (Considering Ruth plays 1B and not Williams)

So- I guess I'm asking which one should play the OF, which one should play 1B and which one should DH.... and in general, should I put my better OF in RF or LF.....

Thanks for any incite
12/1/2016 12:55 AM
I usually hide my worst OF in RF. And tbh, I usually put my best OF in LF, the one with most range in CF, and my worst one in RF. Also, anyone can play first with virtually no effect. I remember in one of ssupfoo's leagues, I didn't have a good 1st baseman to work with so I put Mike Piazza (the year he hit .360) at first and he had a .990+ fielding percentage with hardly any "-" plays. I remember one year, someone put Griffey Jr at first and he won the GG there.

So so I think u got it right. Put O'Neill at DH, but Teddy at first, and try to hide Duffy I think in RF. I'd put Ruth in LF and put Cobb with dat range in CF
12/1/2016 2:06 AM