Old coach desperately needs assistance / mentor Topic

I'm a coach who played Gridiron Dynasty for 90 seasons, beginning in season 2 of Rockne. In past iterations of the game engine, I won numerous championships--built a dynasty where I won 9 at the D1AA level, and later won 1 at the D1 level.

After playing this game for about 7 years, I ended up dropping out after my wife had twins. At the time, I figured that I just wouldn't have any free time, and that was right before the latest game engine change was about to be implemented. So when my seasons expired, I walked away from an elite gig, as a consistent NC contender who recruited very well. That was back in the 2011 time frame.

Last month, I got a random email from whatifsports, and decided to hope over to the website to have a look. Coincidentally, Rockne world was in the middle of hiring [serendipitous timing, if you ask me], and had one more day before new hires finalized. With my kids now being a little older, I impulsively decided to re-apply and got a gig. Landed my favorite team in real life--Syracuse University--and bought a couple of seasons to right the ship on a team that was largely Sim-coach controlled for a lengthy period of time.

Upon landing the job, I read a lot of the forums, trying to pick up tips / information about the new game engine. Then I dove into setting my configurations for game plans, playbooks, practice plans, etc. I also had a lot of fun recruiting--quickly rediscovering that this was the most fun part of the game for me. Landed a solid class, improved the overall talent base, and everything seemed ready to go. With my modified game plans, I had some success in the preseason, and while my team had a challenging schedule, I figured that I was positioned for success. Or at least, for a building block type of season.