Mentor program for becoming a college Bball coach Topic

If you want to coach, you have to coach...anywhere, anyone.

If being a head coach is important to you, apply every season for some sort of better job, keep moving up.

I coached HS football for 20 years. I did 3 years of FRESHMEN before I got to be a VARSITY assistant. I was a position coach for 2 years and then got promoted to Special Teams coordinator. I got canned from that (because I sucked at it) and then 5 more years before I got the chance to be a defensive coordinator.

Coaching is brutal. If you have a spouse, make sure she understands the commitment. If you don't, dating is tough in season.

When you have kids, it's crazy. Expect to hear things like "We don't see Daddy much during <insert season name here>." Some guys can pull it off but I hung the whistle up before my wife stabbed me.

Lot's of fun, super rewarding, not easy....
2/27/2017 5:23 PM
Posted by Trentonjoe on 2/27/2017 5:23:00 PM (view original):
If you want to coach, you have to coach...anywhere, anyone.

If being a head coach is important to you, apply every season for some sort of better job, keep moving up.

I coached HS football for 20 years. I did 3 years of FRESHMEN before I got to be a VARSITY assistant. I was a position coach for 2 years and then got promoted to Special Teams coordinator. I got canned from that (because I sucked at it) and then 5 more years before I got the chance to be a defensive coordinator.

Coaching is brutal. If you have a spouse, make sure she understands the commitment. If you don't, dating is tough in season.

When you have kids, it's crazy. Expect to hear things like "We don't see Daddy much during <insert season name here>." Some guys can pull it off but I hung the whistle up before my wife stabbed me.

Lot's of fun, super rewarding, not easy....