I have an amazing upside to my game. Topic

In response to a scouting report I got: "I have an amazing upside to my game." I forgot, does this mean he has normal "good" upside? Thanks in advance!
3/17/2017 10:48 AM
This is High potential...............i.e. it is the one between Average potential and Sky is the limit
3/17/2017 10:55 AM
Some research was done on this a few months ago on determining STL and good potential from player messages. it was determined, I think, that you can't determine from a player message whether he has good potential or STL potential.
3/17/2017 11:05 AM
You absolutely can determine player potential from scout messages. I've been doing it in this game since 2005.

Sky is the limit potential
High/Above Average potential
Average potential
Low potential
No potential (he's tapped out)

You can determine all of these from a single assistant coach scout visit (always go by the first line in the scouting report). Most of the potentials fall into the 3 middle categories above, and the SITL and No Potential players are the rarest.
3/17/2017 11:50 AM (edited)
Here is an above average/high potential guy:

Coach,

I just got back from my trip to see Dan Thomas. Overall, I'd say that he will end up in D-II. Here's a quick overview of what I saw:

He's got the potential to improve his game a lot over 4 years with us.
Dan Thomas is an above average worker. I have no doubt you'll like this kid's effort, Coach.
He catches any ball that is close to him.
He doesn't seem to understand how to read defenses very well.
A slight breeze might bring this guy down.
He gets down the field really well.

This might also read "amazing upside" from the recruit himself or "has a lot of room to grow" from asst. scout
3/17/2017 12:06 PM (edited)
Here is an average potential guy:

Coach,

I just got back from my trip to see Benjamin Richards. Overall, I'd say that he will end up in D-II. Here's a quick overview of what I saw: