Jobs - Why can't I get a DII job? Topic

So I know I'm new to the game. I'm going in to my 5th season as a DIII coach. But I just applied for 3 different DII jobs and all three were declined.

I would understand if i if I didn't get the jobs bc my resume wasn't the best, but on my last application, I was beat out by an inferior candidate by far.

My resume:
4 years coaching at DIII
3 straight years ranked in top 25
3 straight conference championships
1 conference tourney championship
1 conf coach of the year
3 straight NT appearances
1 Sweet 16
2 second round
3 straight top 5 recruiting classes
3 years with same team
73% win pct

His resume:
4 years coaching- 1 DIII and 3 DII
Hasn't coached in 5 seasons
61% win pct
3 teams in 4 years.
2 conf championships
2 conf tourney championships
1 conf COY

Open to suggestions...
6/14/2017 12:44 AM
Any division 2 experience will ALMOST ALWAYS beat out ANY experience you have from division III. My best guess is that a horrible div 2 coach would 99% of the time get a job over ANY division 3 coach. Regardless of experience. Not saying it's right. Just saying that's how it is.
6/14/2017 2:23 AM
Posted by Arfy on 6/14/2017 2:23:00 AM (view original):
Any division 2 experience will ALMOST ALWAYS beat out ANY experience you have from division III. My best guess is that a horrible div 2 coach would 99% of the time get a job over ANY division 3 coach. Regardless of experience. Not saying it's right. Just saying that's how it is.
This is what I think as well. Since the higher division has an advantage in recruiting, it stands to reason the same advantage exists in jobs.
6/14/2017 4:26 AM
unless DII is suddenly very full in your world, you should be able to land a job - but perhaps not a highly attractive job where a great returning roster will attract strong competition from other coaches. If the jobs process is still open, try again
6/14/2017 6:21 AM
Get to another D2. Move to Florida, Texas or Cal if you want a faster rebuild.