redshirt issues..... Topic

Posted by zagsrulez on 10/16/2017 2:51:00 PM (view original):
Well they could graduate in 4 years and opt out of using the extra FREE 5th year option. Since it is DIII, there are more educational incentive to being redshirted than reasons to refuse a RS. A 5th year would allow for student athletes to add another major, shoot for a master's degree, or take 12 credit hours each semester and earn a degree in 5 years. Its an extra free year of school, if a player refuses a redshirt, they are probably going to spend that year on the bench anyways.

I graduated from a DI school last May and the majority of freshman football players were redshirted. The football players that I knew were more excited about having a 5th year option to choose from rather than sit the bench with little to no playing time freshman year.
D1 is not D3, football is not basketball. I don't have enough interest to look it up but, IMO, a D3 basketball player is on the team to be BMOC, get noticed by chicks or just for the love of playing basketball. He knows damn good and well he'll never get paid to play and, if he's smart, he'll be taking his next career more seriously than hoops. I just don't think there are that many 5th year Senior D3 basketball players. After all, they're paying for school.
10/16/2017 3:35 PM
Did his preference say wants to play during recruiting?
10/16/2017 3:45 PM
Posted by leol22 on 10/16/2017 3:45:00 PM (view original):
That has no impact.
10/16/2017 3:53 PM