I see people mention here a lot about the 2-3 zone is a 2-2-1 zone and the center is independent

So in a 3-2 zone, is it similar, to where it's a 1-2-2 zone and the PG is independently rated? So say your PG has a Def of 2 while your SG and SF have defense of 90 each. Are the 3 accumulated together? Or no?

If this has been discussed before, or if it's just a ridiculous question, hey..... I've never ran zone before, and i am giving it a shot for the first time. I need as much info as possible!
1/5/2018 8:53 AM
No. 3-2 is grouped PG/SG/SF and PF/C.
1/5/2018 9:08 AM
I'm not an expert but I like the 3-2 because I feel I can put a pure scorer at 1 of the 3. Ideally, he can play D but, if not, I can pair him with 2 solid defenders.
1/5/2018 9:09 AM
Ok thanks. Is this for sure? I'm sure you understand what I'm comparing. 2-3 really being 2-2-1. But flip flopping to 3-2 is not the same?

I'm not questioning it again. It's just interesting to me that they've made it clear that the C stands alone in the 2-3. And not the other way around as well.

It obviously makes more sense logically in the 2-3 format to do that. To me it's just odd that it's not that way for the 3-2 also. I don't think it should be, necessarily. If anything i don't think the C should stand alone if i had to pick one way or another, to make both sets run equally. The fact that they're run different seems strange to me
1/5/2018 10:14 AM
Well, you are questioning it again. That's the actual meaning of "Is this for sure?" But, yes, for sure from Dev Chat. And many experienced users.
1/5/2018 10:27 AM
Page three of the forums has a thread titled "how much of a disadvantage is zone defense." Check it out-lots of great info in there.
1/5/2018 10:35 AM
Posted by MikeT23 on 1/5/2018 10:27:00 AM (view original):
Well, you are questioning it again. That's the actual meaning of "Is this for sure?" But, yes, for sure from Dev Chat. And many experienced users.