Hi, I'm new to this game, but definitely not new to sports simming. This is my first recruiting class and I've read everything I could on it, but I am trying to recruit a QB. I have two of them that are green for me. Both have good potential, but the one I like better has an 8 in strength. He's the better recruit in every other way, but is the 8 strength going to be a permanent liability or can it be built up to a reasonable (thought still not good) level in a year or two? 8 just seems really low
2/18/2018 11:24 PM
Really, really low. A few seasons ago I took a punter with a 12 STR; I hoped his TEC would make up for it. It didn't, and I ended up cutting him after two seasons of short punts.
At higher divisions you could game plan around his weak arm, but at DIII you can't control pass depth as well as you can at higher divisions. He's gonna be throwing up lame ducks every game. I'd pass on him.
2/19/2018 4:35 AM
Posted by scrodz on 2/19/2018 4:35:00 AM (view original):
Really, really low. A few seasons ago I took a punter with a 12 STR; I hoped his TEC would make up for it. It didn't, and I ended up cutting him after two seasons of short punts.
At higher divisions you could game plan around his weak arm, but at DIII you can't control pass depth as well as you can at higher divisions. He's gonna be throwing up lame ducks every game. I'd pass on him.
Thanks, that's a really big help
2/19/2018 8:33 AM
One other question, does it matter if on a scouting potential, the AC calls a player a great prospect. I mean, I have two possible recruits and one is better than another from a ratings POV, but the AC calls the one with weaker ratings a Great prospect and I'd have to battle SIM to get him. The other guy is already willing to sign.
2/19/2018 9:28 AM
I wouldn't worry about the "great prospect" comment. Does he say anything about him having room to grow or improving his game a lot of the next four years?
2/19/2018 10:12 AM