Minor League Overpaid Stiffs Topic

When taking over a team with a bunch of junk pitchers at AA that you demote (with their AA salaries) to RL or LoA and then leave them there (where they belong), what will their salary be next season?
3/7/2018 1:40 PM (edited)
I'm a newbie, but I don't think salary goes down for these players.
3/7/2018 1:10 PM
If they don't retire and their not minor league free agents it'll be whatever level their at
3/7/2018 1:11 PM
Posted by Hoss379 on 3/7/2018 1:11:00 PM (view original):
If they don't retire and their not minor league free agents it'll be whatever level their at
This is correct.

3/7/2018 4:31 PM
Salary is commensurate with the level. But guys are more likely to retire if kept at a much lower level after being at a higher level.
3/7/2018 10:01 PM
In my experience this is not true. A minor league player's salary will be the salary of the highest level he's ever reached. So, if you demote a AAA guy to High A, he's still going to get $55K.
3/8/2018 10:26 AM
Posted by lvnwrth on 3/8/2018 10:26:00 AM (view original):
In my experience this is not true. A minor league player's salary will be the salary of the highest level he's ever reached. So, if you demote a AAA guy to High A, he's still going to get $55K.
This is true in the season in which the player is demoted. But when season rolls over to new season, then the salary is set at the level at which the player is (so 3A $54K will be reduced to 2A $38K at new season roll over).
3/8/2018 10:36 AM
The most bogus part of free agency are the six-year minor league free agents. Somebody needs to explain to these guys and their agents that if they weren't able to get out of the minors in six years, they're not getting a multi-year deal at $3M a year. So, they sit out a year, and...if they don't retire...they come back for $60K, give or take.
3/19/2018 3:38 AM
Posted by jt2xTTU on 3/8/2018 10:36:00 AM (view original):
Posted by lvnwrth on 3/8/2018 10:26:00 AM (view original):