Tournament of Champions Topic

What is the deal that in the Tournament of Champions, the $80 million dollar capped teams are being thrown in against teams that have $100 million capped teams? My team won 112 games in my league and lost in 7 games in the World Series. Number 1 seeded team and face a number 8 seed team and get beat in 3 games by a combined score of 28-9. How is that even close to being fair?
3/7/2018 2:59 PM
1. $100M TOCs include teams with salaries between 90,000,001 and 100,000,000. AAA players' real life salaries are factored into this total, which is why you see 80M teams in 100M TOCs (i.e., the real life AAA salaries push the team total to at least 90,000,001).

2. Every team in a TOC is a World Series finalist, so even the lowest seeded teams are good. Also, seeds don't mean much when you remember the teams all come from different leagues.

3. Upsets, especially in a short series, happen. What I've been doing (since about 2016 anyway) when a team of mine gets knocked off by a team I consider inferior is shout "FAKE NEWS!" at my computer screen. Try it! It actually makes you feel better!
3/7/2018 3:17 PM
I don't think so. These are THEME type of teams. The team names are like 96 FLA Tex Balt Mon Phi. It also isn't lost on me that the person who beat me has played over 90,000 games, which equals BIG SPENDER, vs. someone like me 1500 games who can't afford to play multiple games at a time. Didn't think this game would end up being just like all the other App's or online games where they cater to only the big spenders. They have sucked their last $ from me!
3/7/2018 3:38 PM
In fact, I'm right. Click on World Series results and the team came from MLB 120762, $100 million dollar THEME league. That ain't right!
3/7/2018 3:45 PM
I'm not sure I follow you. Are you saying $100M teams with no AAA are placed in $100M TOCs with $80M teams that have AAA (and thus are "bumped" to $100M TOCs)?

Or are you saying something different?
3/7/2018 3:58 PM