17 seasons to land dream job Topic

I started playing HD in Phelan in Oct. of 2016 with the goal of eventually coaching my alma mater, Purdue. Had no idea it would take a year and a half of real time to land the gig, but I finally took over the Boilermakers today. Looking at the game as a newby, I figured maybe 5-6 seasons and I would be able to jump into D1 and hope my team was available. In retrospect, I really enjoyed the journey and wouldn't change a thing. Learned a ton at D3 and D2, then again in low D1 and met a bunch of great coaches, helped build up a mid major conference, and had some solid rivalries along the way.

How does this experience compare to others who have made it to their destination school or are chasing a dream job?

I have to imagine if the likes of KY, Duke or Kansas are your end game, 17 seasons probably sounds pretty good as it may take 40 seasons plus a small miracle to get one of those gigs.
3/10/2018 12:23 PM (edited)
I’m in my 37th season in Tarkanian still trying to get my alma mater of IU.
3/10/2018 12:25 PM
I'm in my 8th season with UT Arlington, and while I haven't had a whole lot of success there, it's still by far my favorite HD team that I've ever had. I'm hoping to be able to eventually get good enough at D1 to compete for championships, but for the time being I'd be happy with a few more NT appearances.

Congrats on landing Purdue!
3/10/2018 12:27 PM
I am still trying to get Syracuse somewhere. It's a gig that rarely opens up.
3/10/2018 12:28 PM
Posted by robinsmd on 3/10/2018 12:25:00 PM (view original):
I’m in my 37th season in Tarkanian still trying to get my alma mater of IU.
That's crazy robins. The IU job has been open on at least 3 different occasions since I joined Phelan. Shows how important it is to be in the right place at the right time.
3/10/2018 12:34 PM