Short Pass vs. Medium Pass Topic

I've been playing for a few years with some success, but I haven't seen nearly as many seasons as many of you. I'm curious how veteran players balance the value of a short passing game vs. a medium passing game. I'm looking forward to hearing different opinions on this one. Thanks!
4/9/2018 3:54 PM
I think this is very dependent on formations and talent but I would say you see way more medium pass teams and it's by a significant margin.
4/9/2018 8:15 PM
For what type of offenses I play, I haven't found any advantage to calling a short pass instead of a medium pass.
4/9/2018 10:28 PM
I have found that Deep passes are almost never completed vs teams equal or better than yours.
(Bring back Daryle Lamonica - The Mad Bomber ! :)
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Daryle_Lamonica
4/10/2018 8:36 AM (edited)
From what I see...the vast majority of my opponents throw medium. I so see quite a bit of short. Rarely do I see a deep, long, or very short. That information comes from teams primarily playing Pro Set and some I-Formation. I see a little bit of Trips and not much of any other formations.

I'm absolutely NOT a passing guru (just ask any of my opponents)...but there can be advantages in the short passing game vs medium. You just have to find them........personnel, formation, playbook settings
4/10/2018 8:04 AM
From what I've seen, with all else even:

shorter passes have higher completion %, give up less sacks, and force the defense to tackle to keep it a short gain. Long passes are completed less %, give up far more sacks, but do go for big gains. Medium is decent in all aspects and doesn't have any huge pro's or cons. Decent completion %, you'll give up a few sacks, completions usually go around 8 ish yards.

Someone might throw short if their OL can't hold up a rush, or if they think their pass receivers can out maneuver the defense after the catch.
4/10/2018 9:31 PM
Short Pass vs. Medium Pass Topic

Search Criteria