Humor me on this idea... Topic

I'm fairly new to SIM baseball (two years) and maybe this has been done before, but what do people think of a theme league where everyone has the same team and plays in the same park? Winning would come down to how you truly manage your team -- and a little bit of luck.

The Commish could just set the teams, or upon signing up, each team picks one player up to 24, and the Commish picks a second one -- No. 25. There would be no advantage/disadvantage for when you pick b/c everyone will end up with that player.

The Commish would have to set some limits on picks either for the whole 25-player draft, or as he/she sees fit as the draft progresses and the cap starts to dwindle.

Thoughts?

Eh? Stupid? Or, just might work?
6/20/2019 11:00 PM
It's been done before, and sure, it'll work.
6/20/2019 11:14 PM
Have you don't it before? Or has anyone else? If so, what did you think?
6/20/2019 11:21 PM
Don't believe I was involved myself, but I probably would be in.
6/20/2019 11:30 PM
It has been done. I may have participated in one at some point or other. For me, across 162 games, the random variation inherent in any statistical simulation is going to outweigh any advantage that might accrue from managerial settings, pitch counts, etc. Said differently, I think the outcome of a league like this is significantly more weighted to luck than skill, compared to other themes.
6/21/2019 12:07 PM
Posted by ozomatli on 6/21/2019 1:23:00 PM (view original):
https://www.whatifsports.com/forums/Posts.aspx?topicID=511703
ozo found the link to the league I was trying to recall where the idea was, for all intents and purposes, used. I've played in it at least twice and have done "well enough". I believe the managerial settings are important and can add a limited competitive advantage, however take a back seat to statistical variations and the element of luck. It's a good concept and a fun league to play.
6/21/2019 2:20 PM