New guy recruiting question Topic

Hi all! Brand new to the game and judging by the forum activity and world content, I'm very glad I stumbled into this game while Wilkinson was accepting new coaches. I really like what I see with the game so far. As a newbie, I'm not sure how I like the 3-hour cycles in the recruiting period. I was watching an old H&H episode where hookemhorns7, huskerfan26, and gators06 were discussing the viability of 6-hour cycles and from an inexperienced, new guy perspective I think that might be a lot less overwhelming for the new people. However, I don't fully have a grasp on the mechanics yet either, so just an initial observation. Other than that, so far so good.

Anyway, on to the actual question, I was learning the recruiting mechanics and realized I targeted too much low talent in an effort to avoid any battles my first year, but decided to jump in the running for just a couple better guys that were only being targeted by sims. I had one OL that was red and I spent quite a bit of money on him this past cycle and he came back with an email that said "No point", "No thanks. I'm already considering enough schools." So, I kind of assumed that was that and I missed out on him. Then I went into my summary and in that same recruiting cycle, he had now become yellow and was considering my school for the first time. Do I keep going for him? What are my chances with a recruit in this situation?

Thanks in advance guys. -Mark
8/6/2019 11:01 PM
You can keep hitting him if you can afford it. Campus visits give the most bang for your buck but it's hard to use too many of those at the lower levels so offering playing time or starting spots can help, if he will actually play. Don't really read the email responses from players... they're just fluff. Any player that shows up in your search for players at your division, you have a chance to get him. Some may just be more difficult to land.
8/7/2019 9:30 AM
Alright, good to know. I appreciate the response.