Sac State Megathread: D1 success w/o D1 players? Topic

Posted by Fregoe on 1/20/2022 10:24:00 AM (view original):
Are D2 coaches actually signing D2 players? Since I started playing again a few months ago(team in every world ugh). I have not singed one player as a D2/3 coach that was projected to play in that division I would think this would acually help the D2 teams near D1 teams doing this
About a third of my scouting budget at D2 is D2 players.
1/21/2022 10:33 PM
Posted by texrangers18 on 1/21/2022 4:04:00 PM (view original):
I can already answer this. It won't work. Either at D1 or at D3.
I think this depends how you define success. I think you could consistently make the postseason at D3 with all D3 players but I don't think you'd survive past the first round most seasons.

At D1 I'm curious to see how cubcub and benis perform...Big Sky is a tough conference so cubcub could prove a lot of people wrong by just netting a positive conference record and a postseason appearance of any kind in his first 4-5 seasons.

Outside of loading up like a 0-0-6-6 lineup with the absolute highest potential players I'd say this strategy isn't viable for a deep NT run for sure.
1/22/2022 10:56 AM
Posted by sol_phenom3 on 1/22/2022 10:56:00 AM (view original):
I think this depends how you define success. I think you could consistently make the postseason at D3 with all D3 players but I don't think you'd survive past the first round most seasons.

At D1 I'm curious to see how cubcub and benis perform...Big Sky is a tough conference so cubcub could prove a lot of people wrong by just netting a positive conference record and a postseason appearance of any kind in his first 4-5 seasons.

Outside of loading up like a 0-0-6-6 lineup with the absolute highest potential players I'd say this strategy isn't viable for a deep NT run for sure.