Hardball newbie here (.4 season completed). I have a couple guys with mutual options next season, of which I want to keep none of them. Assuming they won’t get claimed on waivers (or traded for), is there a trick to increase the odds that these guys to decline their side of the option? I’d like to not pay them to f*ck off. Lol
10/16/2023 8:13 PM
Not that I'm aware. Maybe sticking them in the minors at the end of the season?
10/17/2023 8:52 AM
If you figure it out, let me know. I love mutual options but have never figured out how to make them turn them down. And unfortunately 90% of the time I'd say they take them.

That being said, 25% of their total salary isn't terrible. But also you won't get a compensation pick if someone else signs them.
10/17/2023 9:45 AM
You are better off trying to trade them for a bag of balls or let them get claimed off waivers. If they go unclaimed and you cut them, you are still on the hook for their entire salary -- as opposed to declining your half of the option and only being on the hook for 25%.

I use mutual options most of the time and think I have had only one player decline his half, so there is that.
10/17/2023 3:21 PM
Players often decline their half of the option if it is less than what they think they can make on the open market. I have about a 50% decline rate for players I sign at low rates during Spring Training.

And about a 0% decline rate for expensive contract players.
10/17/2023 7:49 PM
Here's what I do:
- Put them on waivers after transaction deadline
- If someone claims them, great (no one ever claims them)
- If no one claims them, when the playoffs are over I send them to Rookie Ball and remove them from 40 man (if they accept it)

I'd say they decline over 50% of the time when I do this. If they're older, they sometimes retire.
10/17/2023 8:28 PM
Awesome. Thanks for all the input folks. Might try the keithjs approach, but mostly I’ll plan to pay these guys off. Lol
10/18/2023 1:43 AM